Deth Guard Green and brass - help me figure out the colors!

landondavisfisher

Try as I might, I still have not quite figured out how they achieved the studio DG colors, and I'd like to think I'm a pretty good painter.

I've gotten close with the green, with DGG - Camoshade - Drybrush Elysian Green - Ogryn Camo edge - Krieg Khaki edge, but it still looks too... green-y? I don't know. The models in the codex look lighter and paler. Anybody been able to achieve that look or pretty close?

As for the brass, I'm totally lost. GW materials (Dark Imperium inserts, Morty's box, etc) show AT LEAST three different *suggested* methods for painting the brass trim, all of which do not do the trick any help is appreciated!

Did you shade with Agrax Earthshade? To achieve the studio color, start with DGG, then ink it with Agrax Earthshade. Layer up with Elysian Green than Ogryn camo for highlights.

For the bronz trim, start with Blthsasar gold, shade with Agrax Earthshade, then edge with Sycorax Bronze. Some Oxide for effect. I also like a light drybrush of silver, but by light I mean REALLY light.

Did you shade with Agrax Earthshade? To achieve the studio color, start with DGG, then ink it with Agrax Earthshade. Layer up with Elysian Green than Ogryn camo for highlights.

For the bronz trim, start with Blthsasar gold, shade with Agrax Earthshade, then edge with Sycorax Bronze. Some Oxide for effect. I also like a light drybrush of silver, but by light I mean REALLY light.

So an actual layer of Elysian Green? Maybe that's what I've been missing - I've just been doing a very subtle drybrush of EG before moving onto my edge highlights. Thanks!

meCgaIO.jpg

This is the official DG green recipe, from the twitter of multiple eavy metal painters. They did not use Agrax Earthshade on their models