Guide Me, My Brothers - Help the New Guy

Callan

I'm brand new to the hobby.  As in, I'm still painting my first minis.

However, there are goals to set and minis to covet.

I've got the Dark Imperium set.  My Primaris Marines are being painted as Ultramarines.  What I want is advice on a plan on how to grow from this humble beginning into a mighty fighting force.  What units do you suggest I buy next?  What are some long-term goals I should consider?

Considerations:

1) I'm a lore nerd from way back, but I don't have any existing ties to the minis.  If the Primaris seem to be the direction that GW is going for Space Marines in the future, I'm cool with my armies being all-Primaris.  Their maybe-heretical nature seems a bit... spicy.  :biggrin.:   On the other hand, if I'm better served with Smurf Classic, I'll do that too.

2) $$ is a consideration, but not an absolute barrier.  I'll splash out what I need, within reason.

3) I'm a fan of realistic unit composition.  The ideas in this "Battle-Forged Armies" section intrigue me.

4) I don't mind splashing in other Imperial factions if it helps, but I want to maintain some focus.

5) At first, I'll often be playing my Ultramarines against my own Death Guard.  As such, I'll want to build the Death Guard up in a manner similar to how I'm building my Ultramarines.  If you have any input along those lines, I'd appreciate it.  If not, that's fine.  I'll be posting for parallel advice on the appropriate forum soon.

Well if you want to future proof your army, Primaris are indeed the way to go.  The Dark Imperium set seems to cover the basics rather well.  Maybe a unit of Aggressors to expand things a bit, or another unit of Hellblasters or Interceptors...or Intercessors.  Really the range is currently so small that redundancy happens rather quickly. 

Best not to get too much grey plastic on your table at one time, if you intend to paint.  If the pile grows too big most folks suffer from painting paralysis.