Melta Fist or Thunder Hammer?

So once again I have been pouring over the models and the few other choices open to our terminators and I keep coming back to the question, combat or shooting?

3 assault cannons or hammer and shield?

The plus side is we don't have to choose bring able to take melta and a power fi st as a single option making a very big threat, especially when they also come with shields in units of 5 per more but is the flat 3 damage of the hammer worth trading for a d3 damage and a melta gun?

Or is it too expensive in your eyes?

Personally I can't decide, so i would like to know what does everyone else think on this?

I'm no DW player but so far in my experience whenever I had the choice between D3 and D1d3 the D3 was always worth it while the D1d3 always eventually failed me with a 1 damage roll and rarely got a 3 damage roll when it's needed.

I can't say I've ever played with the melta pfist but I have a lot of experience using T-Hammer Storm Shield Termies.

-First off they're one of my favorite units in the game to play but lets be real they're really expensive. I run them in a x5 man squad all kitted out with hammer and shield.

-Tactically: I deep strike them and lay them into any big heavy unit I don't like. They're especially great for deep striking at any back field long shooters (Lemon Russ, Dune Crawler, Hammerhead, etc). I've also ran them in a Landraider/Corvus and that isn't terrible either just pricey pt wise.

-Downside #1: The -1 to hit on the t-hammers is really rough, so deep striking a Captain with em to get some sort of re-rolls helps some. Really really sucks we can't take a Chaplin on a jump pack (for now) or else I'd recommend that for the deep strike route. If your running em in a transport bring the cheap old chaplain and your good.