Got the codex and have some questions

Azaiel

I got the codex now, slowly reading thru it and got a few questions.

If I have a mastercrafted bolter on my W.Captain and fire SIA do I still get the benefits of the mastercrafted bolter? example I fire a Hellfire round do I still get the ap -1 and D2?

I cant find the rules for the melta fist?

Does a watch sergeant cost the same as any other veteran (16 pts)?

The Stratagem "Optimised salvo" has me a bit confused. I always assumed that a unit could choose on a individual level what SIA round to fire in the shooting phase. Especially since we can split fire.

1) Yes

2) It's just a melta gun and a powerfist. Points cost are also just a melta gun and a powerfist.

3) Yes

4) No, we were never allowed to split SIA on the individual level. There was a specific sentence somewhere that explicitly said this, but I can't find it and this strategem is proof enough.

Edit: Silly me, it's in the SIA description:

"When this unit fires any ranged weapons... choose one kind of ammunition from the table..."

Many thanks brother!

Hmmm the Master crafted bolter is a tempting option for my Captain over the stormbolter.

I’m making a Primaris Captain with bane bolts and MC stalker bolt rifle to baby sit and buff my backfield Intercessors and hellblasters. Use kraken rounds and he’s putting out ap -3 D 3 bolter shots. That’s really nice.

Many thanks brother!

Hmmm the Master crafted bolter is a tempting option for my Captain over the stormbolter.

I’m making a Primaris Captain with bane bolts and MC stalker bolt rifle to baby sit and buff my backfield Intercessors and hellblasters. Use kraken rounds and he’s putting out ap -3 D 3 bolter shots. That’s really nice.

Wouldn't be able to do Kraken, but you could do 30" for AP -3. It's also one shot.

Still viable as 1 shot that wounds on 2s with Hellfire, -2 AP, and 3 damage.

Many thanks brother!

Wouldn't be able to do Kraken, but you could do 30" for AP -3. It's also one shot.