Adeptus Titanicus: convince me to play

BolterZorro

Hi

New starter set with core of units played at an affordable price. But I don't know what to think about the game: is it good? is it fluid  and tactic or just bucket of dice to launch during an evening? I am hesitating to start. Main issues: learning an additional game and finding players . Will I like the game?

Best way to know: ask the player: try to "sell" me this game.

(Player of AoS and 40K, former WHFB, and most important EPIC back in the days (which was and still is for me the best GW game ever...It is also the reason that I didn't get into AT in the first place, because it was not Epic and didn't incude the tanks/infantry dreads. Now I know it is not the same game and I got the idea.))

I'm still starting out in my Adeptus Titanicus career but from the experience I've had it flows fairly well. You're only dealing with a handful of models so the complexity isn't the issue other games might get.

And big stompy, shooty robots? What convincing does one need ;)

Once you get up to multiple Titans and throw in scenery, it's pretty tactical. Alternate activations in every phase means it's very easy to screw up your order of operations and block off where a Titan was going to walk with another Titan. Porphyrions aside, it's also pretty well balanced.

However, my main selling point is from a bit of a different angle. When I demo, I do no scenery, one Warlord each. Both Warlords are equipped with two volcano cannons and apocalypse missile launchers. Despite the fact we literally stand there and shoot each other with little to no movement, it's still an engaging game.. I've done this nearly ten times now, and every single person has enjoyed the demo.