Should drones be modeled on their own stands?

beefeb

Pardon my ignorance, I'm a tau noob, having admired them for a long time i only really started getting an army progressed built and painted recently.  My question regarding drones is this....drones attached to vehicles....these can only detach themselves from their vehicle if you use the stratagem, which affects only that specific vehicle, not the whole army.  

So i understand that, no problem, but if that's the case, is there any point to modelling the drones separate on their own stands?  

I ask, because i keep dropping the darn things off the vehicles when i move them and break their antennas etc.  I was thinking that i can model additional drones on stands separately should I decide to detach them with the stratagem, but otherwise there seems no reason/advantage to being separate.

Obviously the ones in units that aren't docked remain on stands, thats straightforward enough for my brain, but in the interests of saving fragile model, do I lose anything rule wise or violate any rules from just gluing them on?

Thanks for the help.

Have you tried to magnetize the drone attachment?

Otherwise I would just glue the drone to the model.

thanks....yeah i magnetise lots of my various models....couldnt figure out a way to get the drones on with magnets without massively changing its profile.  Im thinking the vehicles drones may just get glued in place....i have plenty of free standing drones if i need to proxy them out and mobile. 

Oh wow, didnt see that change. GW didnt bother putting the entire rule in the unit entry and put it somewhere else. That makes them next to useless then. 

I'll double check the printed version, I know the Docked Drone rule is on all the vehicle datasheet in the app. So it's there. If anywhere it would be just before the drone stat lines at the beginning of the data sheet section.