Gangs of Armageddon versus Orks

Brother Tyler

During the Third War for Armageddon (Ghazghkull's second invasion), numerous hive gangs consented to support the war effort (not that they really had a choice once the greenskins came pouring into the hives). A listing of [some of?] these gangs can be found in The Battle for Armageddon.

170px-Battleforarmageddon.jpg

I've re-created that listing below:

large.Gangs.gif.d89a4fa37f8894d77505a3e3

It occurred to me that this might be an interesting way to change Necromunda up a bit. Instead of gangs vs. gangs, it would be gangs vs. Orks in a desperate defense of their hives. This could easily extend to the enforcers defending their hives, "guilds" defending their wastelands, etc. The problem, of course, is coming up with rules. Since the Necromunda gang rules are quite varied, it would be far easier to create rules for Orks. Since I'm not an expert on the Necromunda rules (I have them, but I haven't played the game enough to even try my hand at homegrown rules), I thought I'd dangle this idea out in case any enterprising players want to try their hand at creating the rules before I (hopefully) get to it.

I know there were rules for Orks back in the 1st edition of the game. I don't recall seeing any for 2nd edition. I know there are a few sets of rules for Orks in the current edition of Necromunda floating out there in the wilds of the Internet.

What I'm looking at doing is creating a campaign of sorts, or possibly multiple campaigns so that the hives and "Ash Wastes" can be tackled separately. This might require either a flexible list for the Orks or multiple lists to cover different Ork boyz types, including speed freeks.

It's certainly a neat idea. I'll see if I can come up with a basic profile for an Ork sometime soon and share it here for thoughts/feedback. That said, I'm also in the middle of organising the next camapign for my local community so free time is scarce!