Jump to content

Recon company Restrictions


Xenith
 Share

Recommended Posts

So the recon company says that no heavy units may be deployed on the board, however I presume that I'm allowed to deploy heavy units in vehicles, which start on the board, say 5 terms in a proteus, as being in a vehicle is explicitly not deploying on the board. 

 

Is that right, or am I missing something?

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

17 minutes ago, Xenith said:

So the recon company says that no heavy units may be deployed on the board, however I presume that I'm allowed to deploy heavy units in vehicles, which start on the board, say 5 terms in a proteus, as being in a vehicle is explicitly not deploying on the board. 

 

Is that right, or am I missing something?

 

Yes, the part which says they have to be deployed in reserves.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Precisely - I'm looking at the wording between leviathal and recon - leviathal states clearly that any vehicles must start in reserve, however recon states that anything heavy may not be deployed on the table - which if they're in a transport, they are not, otherwise they could move, shoot etc.

 

The logical/fluff comparison being that a spartan with 10 tartaros is fine to deploy in a recon list, but why would a spartan with 10 cataphractii not be. 

 

RAI it feels like heavy stuff can be in transports, and RAW suggests it also from the different wording to leviathal. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So in both editions, nothing actually says units in transports aren't on the battlefield.  When you embark it tells you to scoop the unit and put it on the side of the table, but nothing refers to them not being on "on the battlefield". This is compounded by the unit receiving Fearless from the transport, not being able to Fall Back, be Pinned, counts as being on the table for the purposes of Sudden Death, and this infamous line:

 

Quote

If the players need to measure a range involving the Embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the Vehicle’s hull.

 

The unit is effectively on the battlefield, just with no footprint and hidden out of LoS.The only time you're not on the battlefield is when you're in reserves, or destroyed.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ok, that's more solid evidence - I think I'm maybe recalling a previous version of 40k rules where units in transports were specifically counted as not being on the table, however I have had a decent look through the books and can't find anything.

 

Looking at the scoring section, they specifically state that units inside transports cannot score, the implication being that without that rule, units inside transports could score, and therefor be "on the table". 

 

Boy this is a mess. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you want to use cata in headhunter I suggest making them siege Tyrants. I have a cata praetor model I have no idea what to do with. 

 

I'm probably dropping any hope of playing catas in headhunter but I'm using a Land Raider Explorator with stolen pyroclasts

Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 hours ago, Vostroi said:

The death Guard cata unit is also a viable option

Is this the Grave Wardens? Say more please.

 

I would have thought Deep Strike terminators were the way to go if they need to start in reserve. Deliverers would have been my choice - I didn’t quite give mine the right equipment though. Not sure I can face breaking off a volkite charger I took so much care to convert!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

6 hours ago, Ripper.McGuirl said:

I would just slap a warmonger in the cataphractii unit, and deepstrike them.

That’s a great idea. Of course it does mean finding a model I like - so far that’s just the event-special praetor with thunder hammer and combi-volkite. Looks like it could get expensive.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

6 minutes ago, LameBeard said:

That’s a great idea. Of course it does mean finding a model I like - so far that’s just the event-special praetor with thunder hammer and combi-volkite. Looks like it could get expensive.

I used the stupidly large new model from the age of darkness box:

20221125_233701.thumb.jpg.ed875c9f91501c0ae60f7f9707599bb3.jpg

The dude in the middle.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

41 minutes ago, LameBeard said:

You effectively made him a terminator!? Genius. That even justifies his 40mm base (#32isenough)

That's exactly what I did. Slapped on some Cataphractii shoulder pads and arms, gave him a techmarine backpack and some bits and Bob was my uncle. And he still is bigger than the Cataphractii around him. Absolutely out of scale these models. 

With those planet discs on his chest he looks kind of space travelling I guessed. With the Aether Splicer I build him I think he pretty much shows what he is.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.