Force Weapon Strength

MARK0SIAN
Go to solution Solved by MichaelCarmine,

I’ve never used Librarians before so my experience with force weapons is non-existent. I wanted to check if I’ve understood the effects of the ‘Force’ ability correctly.

My Librarian has a force axe which gives +1 Strength. Now the force rules states that (if you pass the psychic check) you double the Strength of the ATTACKS, not the weapon. Now the strength of the attack would be 5 due to the plus 1, so does that get doubled to Strength 10?

The alternative would be to double the models base strength then add 1 making it strength 9, or (unlikely) double the +1 to make it Strength 6. 

It seems like it would be the strength 10 option but that seems high and my lack of experience with force weapons is making me second guess myself. Any help much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

16 minutes ago, AGRAMAR said:

I think is doubled the Strength first and then you apply other modifiers. So it would be 9. But in Horus Heresy you can have attacks of S 10 or more, so I have some doubts.

That was my initial thought too as that’s how the modifiers normally work but it’s the fact it specifically says the strength of the attack not the weapon that’s throwing me a bit. That and the fact that the weapon doesn’t actually have a strength, just a modifier to your own strength. But then, it’s not like the rules were the most proof-read document to ever be published so who knows! 

• Solution
18 hours ago, MARK0SIAN said:

I’ve never used Librarians before so my experience with force weapons is non-existent. I wanted to check if I’ve understood the effects of the ‘Force’ ability correctly.

My Librarian has a force axe which gives +1 Strength. Now the force rules states that (if you pass the psychic check) you double the Strength of the ATTACKS, not the weapon. Now the strength of the attack would be 5 due to the plus 1, so does that get doubled to Strength 10?