Jump to content

Recommended Posts

  On 5/16/2023 at 2:31 PM, TrawlingCleaner said:

It's only 1 per round, no matter how many Farseers you have "one model from your army with this ability can use it"

Which is nice IMO, because it means you still need a Farseer in the right place and they're not handing out 6s like Wraithbone Candy :biggrin:

 

 

Neither. The Farseer's abilities are missing Hazardous (1s do MW to the unit) whereas every other Psyker so far as at least one ability with Hazardous.

In 9th they were basically impervious to perils of the warp anyway with rerollable psychic tests and the Ghosthelm ability

Expand  

The hazardous ability is only effecting shooting psychic attacks that are overcharged though, none of the psychic effects we've seen so far have a chance to cause the psyker harm if you don't want them to. Still seems a weird thing to say with the information we currently have.

  On 5/16/2023 at 2:31 PM, Hellex_The_Thanatar said:

 

 

I don't see a profile that has the hazardous keyword but we only get one profile. 

 

 

Maybe there are no hazard powers for eldar I'm already surprised eldritch storm is free of it so...

Expand  

Well Farseers don't suffer perils currently in 9E, so it makes sense that they would not have hazardous.

Edited by WrathOfTheLion
  On 5/16/2023 at 2:52 PM, tzeentch9 said:

The hazardous ability is only effecting shooting psychic attacks that are overcharged though, none of the psychic effects we've seen so far have a chance to cause the psyker harm if you don't want them to. Still seems a weird thing to say with the information we currently have.

Expand  

Only the Weirdboy has so far been shown to have a Perils effect on its psychic ability.

new-weirdboy-card-for-10th-edition-v0-2sc3ztw5zoua1.jpg

  On 5/16/2023 at 2:31 PM, TrawlingCleaner said:

It's only 1 per round, no matter how many Farseers you have "one model from your army with this ability can use it"

Which is nice IMO, because it means you still need a Farseer in the right place and they're not handing out 6s like Wraithbone Candy :biggrin:

Expand  

Ah yeah, I only glanced through it and missed it. Still, that's up to five brought back up to sixes wherever is convenient based on Farseer placement. So a reasonable heuristic on whether to reroll is whether more than half are bad rolls.

  On 5/16/2023 at 3:23 PM, Oxydo said:

Only the Weirdboy has so far been shown to have a Perils effect on its psychic ability.

new-weirdboy-card-for-10th-edition-v0-2sc3ztw5zoua1.jpg

Expand  

The keeper of secrets does as well. I thought the space marine librarian did too. 

But Farseers don't, even as of now in 9E, as mentioned multiple times.

 

So that they don't is likely somewhat of an exception, as their current rules are just being reflected in their 10E profile.

 

On their current 9th Edition profile:
 

  Quote

 

Abilities

 

Ghosthelm: This model never suffers Perils of the Warp.

 

Expand  


Edit: The Librarian definitely had an overcharge ability to suffer some sort of perils, as did the Keeper with its focused witchfire one.

Edited by WrathOfTheLion
  On 5/16/2023 at 4:08 PM, Hellex_The_Thanatar said:

The keeper of secrets does as well. I thought the space marine librarian did too. 

Expand  

On their Psychic attacks, which isn't what we are talking about though.

Compare the abilities that the Weirdboy and Farseer has. Both trigger on a 2+, the weirdboy suffers d6 MW on a 1 while the Farseer doesnt.

  On 5/16/2023 at 4:08 PM, Hellex_The_Thanatar said:

The keeper of secrets does as well. I thought the space marine librarian did too. 

Expand  

Only as the shooting attack, not as any of the abilities, and only if you decided to overcharge. Most psychics can choose to be completely free of perils whilst using their powers, so it seems weird that the farseer is singled out

  On 5/16/2023 at 3:31 PM, WrathOfTheLion said:

Still, that's up to five brought back up to sixes wherever is convenient based on Farseer placement.

Expand  

 

10 into sixes. It says "Once per turn..."

That includes yours AND your opponent's turn.

Query:

With their Detachment Rule, Unparalleled Foresight, can I sub in a fate die AFTER the initial roll, but BEFORE the Hit/Wound Reroll?

 

It's food for thought, but if yes, there is some nice interaction there between the Detachment Rule and the Army Rule.

  On 5/16/2023 at 5:52 PM, VengefulJan said:

With their Detachment Rule, Unparalleled Foresight, can I sub in a fate die AFTER the initial roll, but BEFORE the Hit/Wound Reroll?

Expand  

 

I don't think so. If you want to use a Fate dice, you have to declare before you start rolling at all.

  On 5/16/2023 at 5:57 PM, Karhedron said:

 

I don't think so. If you want to use a Fate dice, you have to declare before you start rolling at all.

Expand  

It would keep it cleaner if it is that way, just thought it would be pretty neat if the "default"  Eldar detachment was a smidge more efficient with the fate dice than the others. However, I would like an FAQ for this if they do not give specifications on the difference between a 'Roll' and a 'Re-Roll' in the Core Rules.

Edited by VengefulJan

I like the Guardian sheet. Relieved to see nice armour and a punchy shuriken catapult. Feel right for advanced citizen guards.

 

Not that I've bothered to play Eldar in a long time, half my guardians still have lasguns.  But I always hated how they'd became a meatshield or suicide squad with 12" range. 

The wording on Linked Fire of the Fire Prism makes me think that, so long as A Singular Fire Prism is within range and LoS of a target then ANY OTHER Fire Prism on the table that can Draw LoS to that fire prism then they can be across the table or whatever and still be able to shoot because the weapon ability doesnt say you are still constrained by the weapon profiles 60" range just that, as long as you have LoS to another fire prism, you can select targets, determine vis and measure range from that chosen fire prism.

I'm really glad guardians are looking worthwhile now. I bought a bunch of the new kit when it came out, and started painting them last week. I just kept telling myself, "one day, guardians will be good. One day, guardians will be good. One day..."

 

Today is that day!

 

Also, it seems only the focused beam profile has the "linked fire" ability. The dispersed is just blast, so no shooting the blast profile at things you can't see with any one of your fire prisms.

 

I've personally been getting more excited to play some xenos this edition than my templars! I need some time in the pain glove!

  On 5/16/2023 at 1:50 PM, Dont-Be-Haten said:

The more I see the rules reveals the more hokey 40k has become.

Expand  

Compared to what? Armor Paint? The daemonculaba? The Horus' (my daddy didn't hanged up any of the pictures I dwaded him on the fwidge uwu ) Heresy?

Edited by Blurf

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.