40K Music Soundtrack Project

Hi all.

I just joined B&C. I'm Kade from London and I hope this is the right place to post this...

I'm a composer of ttrpg music and a long-time ttrpg player in other games. I'm just getting into the WH40K hobby and universe.

I never was much of a painter, but I have begun a new soundtrack album inspired by 40K. I'm just scratching the surface of the lore, factions, heroes and villains in my research -  I guess my first question would be 'what is an ideal research book (story or otherwise) to start me off, having already watched many videos on the various factions and histories?'

My music will consist of cinematic pieces, fairly serious and obviously with some dark aspects. I wanted to get some opinions on the direction of the album...

I have already had a suggestion to make some more Xenos/alien style music (in my 'introduce yourself' post)- basically not to just do the usual religious, choir/church organ stuff of the Imperium (much as I enjoy and am capable of this style).

What would your ideal Warhammer soundtrack sound like?

• An atmosphere and a battle track for each race?
  • Pure atmosphere?
  • Pure battles?
  • More individual styles for the different Marine factions?
  • Leaning more on the Imperium's soundtrack but with some extra tracks for the aliens?
  • Something else?

I understand that there's a whole metal element to WH40K, but I wouldn't want to do an album like that - maybe one tho ;) 

I'm working on a little teaser video for tomorrow to give a small taste of what I'm working on. In the meantime, here's an example of my work for a ttrpg commission. It's an arena battle track against big robots :) - This is more of a "fun" track than I'd do for 40K but it was made to order and would fit well in the next Pacific Rim movie.

Thank you for reading/listening!

Edited by D20 Music
Added a tag

*Update*

As promised, here's my teaser trailer for my upcoming work.