Help with naming conventions?

Hey folks, I'm hoping some Guard enthusiasts may be able to help me out with a project. I'm writing background for my Iron Gauntlet Challenge, and I'm at the point where a Hive World is raising it's first Militarum force. Now I know that regiments tend to be overall organizations that span planets or even sectors. And when people name their armies, there's usually a name and a number, but I'm not sure if regiments have numbers, or if it's only smaller battle groups like companies.

Do the numbers always go after the names, or can the number come first?

And of course, this is the first guard force that the planet is putting together... So the number is just "The First" I would assume?

I've never built a guard force before, and I don't know enough about real-world military organization, so I'm a bit out of my depth. How should I go about naming these guys?

Its generally the name of the planet they are raised on, then a number. 

So an example, Praetorian Guard come from Praetoria, 

So mine are the Praetorian XXVIII (28th) 

Before or after wont matter. The number will be assigned by the Departmento Muintorum. 

Generally on Imperial regiment banners, you have a centralised image, like the cadian gate, with the regiment number above the symbol, and the regiment name below. 

Is yours a already named planet or just of your design?

My guys are from a planet called Desdaemona Prime- the Desdaemona piece doesn't modify well- Desdaemonan, or Desdaemonian both sound cumbersome- so I think I want "Primal" in there- Desdaemona Prime is the only planet in-system with a prime designation, so the reference is there, but it's less obvious since Primal is already an adjective with its own (unrelated) meaning.