How tall are "true scale" marines?

I know the standard Marine is about 28mm or so, so how tall should the true scale ones be? Is there a consensus? I am just curious before I hack a whole marine army.

And, should termies be taller still? If so, how much more?

It's generally (generally) considered that Inquisitor-scale Space Marines are correct in proportion to Inquisitor-scaled humans. Jes Goodwin sculpted Artemis at 67mm high (whilst the humans are ~54mm). It does depend on your perception of Marines. Some suggest marines are seven feet tall - others reckon they're eight or nine.

Using that ratio, I figure it goes like this then:

54/67=28/x (read 54 over 67 equals 28 over x), where x equals the true scale marine.

Now, cross multiply, giving us:

54x=1867

Now divide both sides by 54 to give us x:

True scale marines should be 34.74mm tall.

Sounds about right to me.

And yes, I am a teacher and I have taught basic algebra! <_<

I just broke out the steel rule and measured some minis.

The standard Iglet is 30mm.

The normal pose marine is 32mm, which totally skews my ratio in the previous post.

=I= Eisenhorn stands about 60mm...

I'm just going to fudge it and call a "true scale" marine 40mm, a true scale termie 45mm.

Does anyone else have any ideas?

Odd... my impression was that 40k was 28mm-scaled.

And yes, I am a teacher and I have taught basic algebra! :P

That's alright, I'm in the process of becoming a teacher too - though an English teacher. I couldn't handle algebra - basic or not. <_<

I too thought 40K was 28mm based, but I guess there has been some 'creep' over the years. I did some comparisons, and 40mm measures about right when compared to a plastic marine. I'm figuring a nice plug in the torso (GW has this nasty habit in my opinion of connecting the figures ribcage to their pelvis) and maybe some in the legs.

This is going to be fun...