Painting a halved scheme...

Well, my mate wants me to paint him up a halved scheme for one of his Space Marines (which is amazing really, as Im a novice painter ;)) but I havent ever done one before. I went through the tutorials listed in the FAQ and Rules section, but I couldnt find anything. Searchy the Servo Sperm came up with nothing aswell. So, can anyone help me out? Some pointers would be great :D

-Kaldoth

Check SCC's website, I think there is a link in his sig or profile. He has wonderful advice for painting a quartered scheme, which would translate very well to a Half-scheme. You could also just PM him.

EH

Depends on the colors you want to use. But a steady hand and a good eye for your centerlines is really all you need as far as special techniques. I can't paint them if I haven't had anything to eat recently, or if I've eaten alot of sugar. Makes my hands just shake that little too much to really get good straight lines. But, on the bright side, alot of marine models have much smaller seperate vertical areas on thier centerline than you would think, so it's a game of getting your center right on several small spaces, instead of one big long space. Makes it easier to keep your center straight.

When using two high contrast or brighter colors, using a trick from the mimes and clowns with thier facepaint helps. Put a very thin line of a dark brown down the seam of the two colors, provided you can draw a straight line with it, and keep it thin, it'll help it look much cleaner, and you won't have that "floating" effect you can get from two colors like a blue and a yellow, or a red and a green. (Boltman was talking about this effect from the wavelength of the colors in his post earlier.)