PAINTING MARINES, TIPS AND TRICKS>

hey, im not very experienced in painting marines. So I dont know any tricks people may use, so how is the best way to get those white dots in the eye lense? and keeping the lines on the gaurds on thier shoulders straight. Any tips or ticks would be most appriciated.

For the dots on the lens, you will want to use a brush with a real good point, and I find it works best with non-thinned white paint, but it's all about the practice.

As far as keeping the highlight lines on the shoulder pad straight, it is also practice, but one really good tip is to keep the original color on hand and clean up the lines after you are done. You can make a real thick line pretty thin with a lot less stress that way.

thanks, but i meant the raised edge on the shoulder pad. How to keep the seperating line of color straight. Myabe masking????

Mostly it's just about a steady hand, which you will develop when you paint. Also, painting with the side of the brush, helps, since then the paint will only stick to the raised area if you angle your brush correctly and don't use too much paint.

Cheers

hey, im not very experienced in painting marines. So I dont know any tricks people may use, so how is the best way to get those white dots in the eye lense?

Mostly I use a really fine brush with thinned down Skull White paint. Carefully dot where you want the paint to go. If your hand isn't too steady, or your brush tip isn't worth bragging about, replace the brush by a toothpick and dot the eye.

and keeping the lines on the gaurds on thier shoulders straight. Any tips or ticks would be most appriciated.

Mostly with a steady hand, I'm affraid. You can also paint the edge, and then give it an ink wash to darkline everything. A careful ink wash will mask any crooked transitions between the trim color and the shoulder pad color, and it will collect in the recesses giving you a nice and straight line.