'Gaming Standard'

Hurray, I finally completed my first unit of Black Legion for my Chaos Force. 12 Marines all painted in the gold, silver and red of the legion. I'll be honest with you all, I am not the best painter, I'm a gaming standard painter. For a long time painting has been the only thing putting me off seriously gaming and now I have a unit complete I feel much better, and despite the fact they may be painted on an average level, they are my effort n thats what matters.

My question to you - What do you consider to be 'Gaming Standard' and are you ashamed of any of the paint jobs in your army?

I consider gaming standard as having a painted army that looks like the person took some effort to do. Not everything has to be done meticulously, as I understand some players (myself included) aren't good at painting, or maybe they don't enjoy that particular aspect of the hobby. I won't refuse to play someone just because their paint job isn't crisp enough, or even if their army isn't fully painted (the gaming group at my local store is pretty laid back about painting despite the fact there are some great painters).

Most people won't get on you so long as your army is painted and it looks like you actually put some effort into it. They may offer tips and suggestions for future models, but rarely, if ever, something negative.

Gaming standard for me is as follows:

-An army that I would be proud to play with.

-A fully painted army.

As you can imagine, I don't play much, as it takes me awhile (4-6 hours average) to paint a Tactical Squad member, and pleasing myself is the hardest task.

-Joe

Just taken a load of pictures and I'm going to upload them once my Lemon Meringue Pie has been eaten. I've got to blackline these miniatures with a fineliner pen (I always thought it was a logic thing to do on black) and their Rhino is going to be painted tomorrow. I feel quite pleased and am looking forward to converting some terminators in the next fortnight.