To Vamp or not to Vamp?

Lestat

Hi, reading through various posts accross many differing topics I noticed a love/hate relationship with the Vampiric nature of the Blood Angels fluff. Why do so many people hate the fact that the Blood Angels are vampires? To me it is all part and parcel of the fluff - and part of the fluff that I really enjoy.

When I started playing 40k way back in 2nd edition, it was the fluff that really sold the Blood Angels to me. I loved the imagery of them fighting against thier nature and trying to find a cure for the blood-curse. I also loved having an ad-hoc unit of blood crazed madmen who wanted nothing better than to rip out thier enemies throats and gorge on thier blood. My favourite model was Mephiston - I think I ended painting about three different reincarnations of him over the years............

Of course, back then I was a fully-fleged metal-head dressed from top to toe in black denim and leather with long hair so the gothic, vampiric imagery of the Blood Angels instantly appealed. Although I was never a Goth and Emo hadn't been invented yet (thank the Emperor!) there were certain attractions between the music I listened too and the fluff of the Blood Angels. I remember fondly playing and painting to Slayers Reign In Blood album......................... anyway back on topic.

What I am trying to get around to saying is, why do so many people hate the vampiric nature of the Blood Angels? I mean, the clues are there in thier name and background fluff - why do so many people complain about GW playing up the Blood Angels darker side?

The reasons I chose Blood Angels are as I have already explained - I loved the background fluff. The stories and imagery really appealed to me. To give an example, thats why I don't play Ultramarines - they are just too vanilla for me.