Pre-heresy Alpha Legion WIP

Contemp 3

Maximus 1

Hey, ive just recently started up on here and have uploaded some pics of models so far. I'm going for pre-heresy alpha legion army and I'm not fully decided on which purple to use as yet, I've got some pics of models done in both colours and would like to know what people think.

Hey, as a new painter I've been finding that some colours are easier to work with than others, purple is a relative medium I've found, it needs a few coats to look full but not as many as white or yellow. Which purple do you think suits the alpha legion better? I'm still undecided but have nearly finished an iron armoured marine in the vallejo purple so will post soon to see what people think.

I've used purple on my Syvanian Empire units. I actually enjoyed the colour. I was using the following method:

Under-coat - Hormagaunt Purple

Base-coat - Liche Purple

Wash - Druchii Purple

Touch-up - Liche Purple

Highlight - Mix of Liche Purple and Skull White

This was done using 'ye olde' paints as I didn't want to spring for new paints on an army which I wasn't sure I'd finish. (I have a terrible habit of losing interest in projects before they are complete.)

I'm not sure this would give you the bold Astarte's look you would want though. A space marine is a far cry from some grubby farmer with a sword pretending he can fight!

I love the idea of pre-heresy Alpha Legion though! Keep on it mate.

Cas