Hour of the Gorgon

Iron Hands Fanatic

I've been writing short narrative segments in the setting for a while now, for various DIY IAs and whatnot, but this is my first attempt with established factions.

I basically wrote this after reading the preview for The First Heretic by ADB on the Black Library website (man, I have got to get that book),

because I thought it would be good fun to write about a Primarch, and I wanted to put a slightly different spin on the way an Astartes might consider them (at first).

This covers the 10th Legion meeting Ferrus Manus for the 1st time, which was quite fun as there isn't much existing written about the Gorgon. The reason he has a sword instead of Forgebreaker is because he hasn't met Fulgrim yet (I know they met on Terra, but seeing as that passage in Fulgrim says the Phoenican was accompanied by his Pheonix guard, I figured it would be stupid if a later-discovered Primarch had taken command of his Legion first, especially as Massacre mentions Ferrus took command of the X faster than most Primarchs did).

And yes, after proof-reading this, I did realise I use triplets a stupid amount, but hey, its a better way of adding emphasis than putting exclamation marks everywhere.

Anyway, enjoy & all C&C is very welcome.

HOUR OF THE GORGON

Arvo had been there in the beginning, when the first Astartes had been birthed in hell of the unification. He remembered the first human soldiers he had faced, terrified wretches who had shrieked as the armoured behemoths before them butchered their way forward. Much the same as he must have felt when he first looked upon a Primarch, he mused – remembering the nausea he had experienced when Horus Lupercal, the first discovered son, had been toured through the ranks of the assembled Legions in the aftermath of the annihilation of the ‘Krooked Klaw’ Greenskin Empire.