Is the autocannon our best weapon?

irwit

Hi all

So I am new to Astra Militarum but have ordered my first models, a unit of Death Korps, a Chimera and 3 Sentinels (I love the Sentinel Models!!!")

Anyway I am now trying to come up with a list and as much as I keep trying to find an alternative, I just seem to keep adding autocannons to EVERYTHING!

Heavy weapon squad? Autocannons,

Sentinels? Autocannons

Infantry and command squads? Autocannons

Taurox comes with a free twin linked autocannon :)

Im even tempted by the 4 shot twin linked leman russ autocannon!

The only things I am also finding I want are

Punisher cannons on Leman Russ and FW Vulture (which is twinlinked smile.png )

Wyvern Batterys, basically reroll everything

I'm tempted by the Executioner cannon on the Leman russ, Large ap2 blast.

Vetrans with meltaguns

Am I alone in seeing Autocannons as our best weapons? Is there a flaw I'm not seeing in fielding so many autocannons?

Best is a subjective and relative term, but yes the autocannon is a good weapon. It occupies a neat middle ground, good strength and AP and two shots for a modest price make it a good option to have for Guard. Autocannons will do a good job tackling light armour such as transports and the number of shots lets them do things like glance medium armour to death. Not too shabby for turning on flyers too if you're in a pinch and battering down pesky skimmers, so when in doubt adding some more autocannons is usually a good idea as they can reliably do their job.

They also do a good job tackling infantry if you need a bit of support, though it's not an ideal use as you can usually do this better elsewhere. You can't dine on autocannons alone though, so I don't think you should go mad with them but that's not so much of a flaw given that anything will be bad taken to the extreme!