A poll for all the painters

Chefzilla

Keirdale, Warrior, Elmo I'm looking in your general direction but this is for everyone.

I'm just curious how long we've all been painting. I'm a bit competitive by nature and seeing some of the fantastic work coming from this group has got my hackles up. ;)  Really its about gauging where I'm going.

I've seen some very talented painters here. Keep up the great work!

I've been painting for a good 20 years, started doing 1/35th WW2 scale models with my dad when I was a kid, then started up with Warhammer in about 1999. Took a hiatus from 2005-2012 and have gotten more serious about painting in the past few years. Some may scoff or laugh at this, but I actually found the Games Workshop How to Paint Citadel Miniatures quite helpful in taking my painting "to the next level" along with the new line of paints.

You can see my work in the links in my signature. I don't have any pics of my earlier work, but I can tell you there's a huge difference. Practice really does help you improve a lot over time.

I first picked up the paint brush over 20 years ago. As it happens I've recently found a Russ from all those aeons ago that I need to repaint to bring back into the fold, perhaps after Blood and Glory is complete? When I get a spare moment I'll post a picture of it tongue.png I've come a long way since then but as Nico said it's purely down to effort. It's only been the last 6 or so years that I've made a decent effort to properly improve and try out new things.

The most important thing is probably the fact I have poor depth perception which unfortunately makes detail work difficult. I've learnt to cope with it as best I can, but as long as I'm always improving that's all that really matters smile.png