Heavy Weapon squads: making the most out of the kit

awilden

Hey all, I'm new to guard, and was looking as a few boxes/kits (like the new 'Start Collecting' box), and wanted to know what the deal was with the Cadian heavy weapons teams, for example just using what's on the sprue, could you make more than 1 team without magnetising them? and if not, what would be the optimal number (and sort) of bitz to get off ebay?

I would assume that given you can make any of the heavy weapons, you get all the weapons and the legs/bodies/heads/(maybe)arms are what you need to get since they most likely only pack enough to get 2 troops.

What are some experiences you have had with making the most out of the kit? I was looking at getting maybe the 'Start Collecting' box, and then getting some cheap ebay deals to get enough troops to make an allied detachment (to pair with my Blood Angels).

Thanks.

The box comes with the bits to make 3 heavy weapons teams of the following:

Missile Launchers

Autocannons

Heavy Bolters

Mortars

Lascannons

Now, according to the instructions, you put two dudes to a base, one gunner and one loader. It only comes with 3 tripods, and 3 bipods, the tripods are for Heavy bolters, lascannons and autocannons, while the bipods are for mortars and missile launchers.

I used the missile launchers on standing cadians from a standard shock trooper box to sub into my Infantry/veteran squads. I also made 3 tripod guns and 3 mortars, using the crouching dudes, as I intend to get a regular cadian box and make the loader for my teams. They work great for now, and out of each box you can make 6 heavy weapons.

I like heavy bolters, autocannons, and mortars, because they are less affected by the BS3 of standard guardsmen, but if you intend to use veteran teams you can use missile launchers and lascannons fairly effectively.