After churning out some Rogue Trader grunts last week I decided to get another long term project for this classic old game off my paint station and onto the battlefield. 

I really think that Rogue Trader, and indeed all old school games are even more enjoyable when you play them with models from the appropriate era and as such I have tracked down this fellow to lead my Salamanders force. He is a 1987 Space Marine Librarian equipped with a useful Force Sword... and arguably less useful book!

blogger-image--955394610.jpg

As he is a character model I decided to lavish a bit more attention on him particularly as his rich, blue armour is likely to draw the eye during games!

blogger-image--1643865036.jpg

If you look closely you will see that no 'metallic' paints have been used anywhere on the model; in fact all areas of bare metal have been achieved by using non-metallic metal (NMM) techniques. This is my first attempt at this advanced method of painting metals and overall I am very pleased with how it turned out.

blogger-image-1980689386.jpg

The rest of the armour was painted by progressive layers of blending designed to create a smooth look across the model as a whole. I achieved this by starting off with a relatively dark base-coat and then gradually adding a small amount of skull white to each layer. I think the end result was worth the additional effort (and time) and I feel it is a fitting model to lead my Space Marine Force to victory!

He looks great! ^_^

I used to have that model and it's still one of my favourites :)

One thing though, is that his skin doesn't reflect that of the chapter, but still.

Cheers guys. I do love this old model!