The Potato wishes to revive his Chaos Warband - halp request

Hi all, 

I used to play Chaos a few years ago, until the Horus Heresy came out and consumed me body, soul & wallet. 

I've been eyeing reviving my Chaos Warband (I had around 1000 to 1500 points IIRC). It was a mixture of Black Legion and Khorne Beserkers.  I dug up my old list, which is as below:

HQ
Chaos Lord 105pts
Power armour
Power weapon, plasma pistol
Mark of Khorne, 

Elites
Helbrute 105pt
Chaos Terminators 198pt
3x Lightning claw pairs
2x heavy flamer

Troops
Khorne Besekers 225pt
9x Zerky
1x Zerky Champ w/powerfist
Chaos Space Marines 155pts
9x CSM
1x AC w/power weapon

Heavy Support
Obliterators 210pt
X3 
Total 998pts

This was back in the day when I was a student and had very little money so the list was mostly a "with what I have now" affair. I also have a Helldrake, Chosen and a Maulerfiend. 

I'd love to base an army around a Brass Scorpion. I'm considering treating myself to one and frankly I can't justify it just for how cool it is, I want to field it. I'm happy to purchase additional units as an fyi and like red, stabby murderthings. 

Would love any suggestions on what kind of units and lists to field, I played before formations were a thing so what ones do you recommend for somebody who likes red, stabby murderthings???

Going from my terrible experiences I found the Beserkers blerg without transport and the Terminators always died to lasguns somehow. Terrible terrible rolls 'errywhere.

Cheerio,

Potato

I can't help you with list building (and tbh, depending on how long you are planning to work on them, I am not sure if it's the best thing to do atm to go after a game list). But I can help you with army themes :)

So it seems you would like to go with Khorne? Just Khorne, or also Black Legion again? World Eaters, or Renegades? 

The Brass Scorpion is a lovely model and will work wonderfully as focus model for your army =)