Painting Raven Guard

Biscuittzz

Hey,

I've recently started collecting RG, mostly 30k, but I guess this is still valid in here.

I'm looking to finally begin painting them, but I'm basically a beginner. I was going to post in the painting/modelling forum but I felt I'd get better advice here from fellow Ravens.

What would the basic colours and shades etc be for starting with? Advice on what brand to go for would also be welcome. I've seen the majority say it's a toss up between Citadel and Vallejo though I'm not to fussed about using others. I'd very much appreciate a list of what the standard stuff to use as I'm a bit lost at the moment. 

Guess I should finish by saying that I'm more interested in a pure black armour/layer as I don't really like the 'dark grey' shaded painting schemes that I've come across bar very few. Pure black with a grey/blue/purple highlight is what I actually really like. The RG showcase on Den of Imagination awhile back had something of this sort that caught my eye.

Once again thanks for any advice.

Welcome to the Ravenspire ... ?

For my part, I use P3 Thamar Black and Menoth White (from memory).  The white gets Vallejo Model Color Pale Grey in the corners and lines.

Other than fiddly-bits like eye lenses and stuff, that's all I use.  I don't shade or layer because I am going for fast completion and table-top quality.  I let the lighting of the store handle shades.  Admittedly, the completion rate is not so fast because I can only paint about 10 hours a week, at most.

^_^

I use the citadel range. Dawnstone is amazing for edge highlighting black. The colors I use are Abbadon Black, Mechanicus Standard Grey, Dawnstone, Celestra Grey, Ulthuan Grey, White Scar, Administratum Grey, leadbelcher, rune fang steel, nuln oil, and Eshin Grey.