Jump to content

Dreadnought Character (stratagem) interactions


Rodrick
 Share

Recommended Posts

Assuming you're willing to use Primaris, the best way to deploy this in my opinion would be as part of an already functioning unit. For example:

 

HQ:

Primaris Chaplain with +1 to wound litany

Primaris Lieutenant with assault bolter

 

Troupes:

3x5 Intercescers with assault bolters

 

Elites:

Ironclad with chainfist and hurricane bolter, character, champion strat, relic(?)

 

Now. You could of course move that Ironclad to a vanguard with other elites. The point here is that you're slotting him in with a screen that has other utility, isn't expensive, and fits your ironclad's secondary abilities. This is a troupe that is perfectly fine with advancing up the board on foot, dumping loads of shots into screens of infantry, and clearing a path toward the big boy targets that the ironclad can easily bust open. Once you get into melee range, swap the chaplain to rerolling all hits in melee and send your boy in. 

 

On the advance, the Ironclad can turn 1 CP into a captain buff for all of the boys around him. If you are fighting something like Eldar fliers, you can make use of the strat to let one of your assault boys auto hit. And though it's not the cheapest in terms of CP, the points investment here is relatively light and gives you boots on the ground for objective snagging as well as a meaty castle unit that doesn't need much outside support from the rest of your army. If enemy snipers waste all their time trying to take down that ironclad, they wont' get slay the warlord. if they ignore the ironclad in favor of other buffing characters, he's going to smash something and easily make his points back.

Edited by Marshal Valkenhayn
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wouldnt Only in Death does duty end, stratagem, work good on a Dreadnought character? Attacking once Before being removed? Perhaps not on a Redemptor or Conemptor, since they would use the lower wounds thing for to hit and such. But good for the others, right?

 

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wouldnt Only in Death does duty end, stratagem, work good on a Dreadnought character? Attacking once Before being removed? Perhaps not on a Redemptor or Conemptor, since they would use the lower wounds thing for to hit and such. But good for the others, right?

 

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.

 

It's a great idea. Use it on a Levi, hard to kill but if it does go it hits on 4's I believe. 20 shots again... dang that ugly..

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks faithonwings, could be good perhaps.

 

But can a Dreadnought be made a Warlord and given a trait? In what order are the stratagems activated?

 

Please excuse grammar, spelling mistakes and such.

 

theres a strat that lets you choose a warlord trait without being a warlord , 1cp i think

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

 

Thanks faithonwings, could be good perhaps.

 

But can a Dreadnought be made a Warlord and given a trait? In what order are the stratagems activated?

 

Please excuse grammar, spelling mistakes and such.

theres a strat that lets you choose a warlord trait without being a warlord , 1cp i think

Yes, that strat says after choosing the warlord but before the first round, give a character a warlord trait. So you van give it a 5+++, or extra shots on 6's, or move 6" after a fight fase. All very good traits for any dreadnought, but for the Levi most of all.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The trait with a 6" move as consolidation seems really good, would that mean that at the end of the opponents fight thing, you can simply walk out of combat, then shoot in your own phase and then charge? The warlord stratagem seems really powerfull then. Perhaps wouldnt work if the Dreadnought is surrounded..

 

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The trait with a 6" move as consolidation seems really good, would that mean that at the end of the opponents fight thing, you can simply walk out of combat, then shoot in your own phase and then charge? The warlord stratagem seems really powerfull then. Perhaps wouldnt work if the Dreadnought is surrounded..

 

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.

Sadly, no. Consolidation moves are in your own fight phase, not your opponents.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

The trait with a 6" move as consolidation seems really good, would that mean that at the end of the opponents fight thing, you can simply walk out of combat, then shoot in your own phase and then charge? The warlord stratagem seems really powerfull then. Perhaps wouldnt work if the Dreadnought is surrounded..

 

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.

Sadly, no. Consolidation moves are in your own fight phase, not your opponents.

 

That is fantastically wrong.

 

A consolidation move happens whenever a unit is selected to fight:

  1. Choose a unit to fight with (if they charged, or there is an enemy model within 1" of that unit, they are eligible)
  2. Pile in up to 3" towards the nearest enemy model (on a model by model basis)
  3. Declare attacks
  4. Make attacks
  5. Consolidate up to 3" towards the nearest enemy model (on a model by model basis)
  6. IH WLT overrides the consolidate to make it 6" in any direction

There's nothing about consolidating only in your own Fight phase.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nobody has explained me yet why dreads can't take relics when imperials knights can

Because the relics section of the books specifically says you can't.

This.

 

Dreadnoughts got an errata before C:SM 2.0 which meant that they couldn't take relics; in C:SM 2.0, all of the relic sections specifically call out Vehicles as not being allowed.

Edited by Iron Father Ferrum
Let's avoid too much snark, please.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

 

 

The trait with a 6" move as consolidation seems really good, would that mean that at the end of the opponents fight thing, you can simply walk out of combat, then shoot in your own phase and then charge? The warlord stratagem seems really powerfull then. Perhaps wouldnt work if the Dreadnought is surrounded..

 

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.

Sadly, no. Consolidation moves are in your own fight phase, not your opponents.

That is fantastically wrong.

 

A consolidation move happens whenever a unit is selected to fight:

  • Choose a unit to fight with (if they charged, or there is an enemy model within 1" of that unit, they are eligible)
  • Pile in up to 3" towards the nearest enemy model (on a model by model basis)
  • Declare attacks
  • Make attacks
  • Consolidate up to 3" towards the nearest enemy model (on a model by model basis)
  • IH WLT overrides the consolidate to make it 6" in any direction
There's nothing about consolidating only in your own Fight phase.

Thank you! This is amazing and has changed my understanding of the fight phase. My Chaplain Dread is 100% going to take Student of History now.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think the confusion stems from Kallas using the term "C:SM 2.0" That references the newly published version of Codex Space Marines, *not* Codex Chaos Space Marines 2.0.

 

Which is why I said C:SM 2.0, not C:CSM 2.0 :wink:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.