break from marines to go craftworlds

hey all. so, i have been playing 40k since late 3rd edition, mainly as a Black Templars player.

i want to take a break from collecting black templars now. i am almost restarting the hobby after leaving in 7th, have abysmally few 9th ed games due to covid. 

and see, i ALWAYS felt drawn to craftworld eldar. the model aesthetic and lore about a dying race of manipulative "kinda-"heroic psykers with the dark past with slaanesh, this is all awesome for me.

HOWEVER.

1. i need help. i am extremely new in 9th ed. been reading a LOT about meta, but i am open to admit you guys have hugely more practice and knowledge.

2. "do it right". i will have some constraints (i want to play a  force that will have at least *some* mechanized elements) but other than that, i want my army to gear more towards competitive. so, for example, i wont buy "big boxes/ebay sales of models i dont want just to save money". better to start slow and end up with the army i want .

3. i am VERY well aware of craftworlds' below average competitive stats right now, faction glicko scores, etc, and i do not care. i love tournaments, but i don't buy an army for "1 year' worth of meta", thats just dumb IMHO, i am not rich. i want to slowly build up and invest in 1-2 boxes per month, and that means i have lots of time to grow as a player until a new codex comes out( it will eventually) where i will have a better idea of what's what. in my many years of 40k, whoever started an army due to "meta" has regretted it.

so, for starters, any initial suggestions regarding any craftworld blogs/videos etc that could help me?

Edited by MarshalMittermeier

Welcome to the Path! :smile.:

After the Imperium, the Eldar are one of the most richly detailed races in 40K. They also have one of the most diverse range of units with everything from fast and fragile glass cannon units like Howling Banshees to towering Wraith constructs.