[30k] Legion Contemptor Upgrades - DA, WS, IF, EC, IW, SoH

https://www.warhammer-community.com/2023/02/09/heresy-thursday-armour-up-with-contemptor-dreadnought-legion-upgrades/

PWKwAZraO82XSZAb.jpg

Buy those resin Legion Contemptors now before theyre gone. Especially since these dont seem to come with the shoulders or legs of the full resin kits.

Edited by Slips

I imagine this is somewhat similar to the torsos situation; trying to cut back on wasted shelf space on products that don't sell particularly well, particularly now a fully plastic kit is in production. It may be that further down the line we see plastic Contemptor and Leviathan upgrades if they believe it's worth it, ala the shift of Necromunda upgrades from resin to plastic.

So I’ve been buying FW for a long time.

I think first thing I ever bought was a Adeptus Mechanicus icon in like 98-99 that was made in tan coloured resin. The reason I say this is to emphasize that I have a lot of experience with FW resin over the years. 

Now, hate is a very strong word…and that’s why I’m using it.

I hate FW resin.

With very few exceptions plastic is superior in almost every way. I absolutely understand why they would create something in resin and not plastic from the markets point of view, but I still hate to use it. Also given Necromunda is my main game right now, I deal with a lot of resin.

So given that, IMO whatever lets me keep at least some of the excellent aesthetics of FW while minimizing resin, I’m usually for it.

This is one of the rare few exceptions though. It’s almost literally the same product we’ve had before, bust just less of it. Ok, so it’s modified to fit the new plastics which is great, but I would have loved it if they kept at least the lower torso and shoulders as well. 

I do understand why they did it though. They save on a ton of shelf space which lets FW put out brand new stuff and have space for it.