Models from Strike Force Agastus - Positives and some real problems. First impression

So, I picked up my set today and hurried home. I was really looking forward to building some models as I hadn't done any hobby construction or painting since I finished my Horus Heresy force.

I assembled the new Lieutenant first Really nice model and an awesome kit. It comes with enough bits to easily assembled a 2nd Lieutenant or even a Captain. If you have a spare Intercessor body you can easily swap the arms. They are designed to fit with basically any torso - great stuff! I now have two extra Lieutenants with unique weapon combinations.

Next was the Dreadnought. I had serious problems with this model. My kit was basically defective and most of the parts would not fit together. Keep in mind that I'm a seasoned hobbyist who has assembled all sorts of kits over the last 25 years including difficult Forgeworld models, so it wasn't a case of inexperience or error.

I have never seen anything like this with a modern GW kit - Basically most of the parts on the sprue were wider or thicker than they should be. It meant that it was not possible to put pieces together in a flush manner. I should have simply returned the kit in hindsight. I didn't shy away from the challenge as I knew I could file down and cut the pieces to make them fit, but this manual process took me NINE HOURS. On top of this, the final pose and quality and sturdiness of the assembly was not to my standard. All the clipping and filing took it's tole on the sturdiness of the model.

Lastly I built a few Desolators. I can confirm that the missiles look a lot better in person. The Vengor Launcher is definitely a bit big and I will not be equipping it. I am very happy that you can build an entire squad of 10, all of them aiming the missiles and facing in the same direction.

21 minutes ago, Orange Knight said: