Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'strategem'.
So with the pre-order around the corner, this is a conversation about the upcoming Chapter Approved changes specifically. (Please no codex wishlisting here, we've got a topic for that.) Very little basic rules changes seem to be coming that we didn't know/suspect. Stuff like Boots on the Ground ; unfortunately this takes away from the usefulness of the Heldrake a little more... and I do use it. And Objective Secured, which I think is great for Tzaangor players like myself. Interestingly enough they do mention lots of point decreases, an where they seem to indicate most increases is with anything you've seen in an Imperium HQ tournament slot. (Celestine,Guilliman, Cawl). Of course Maelific Lords got smashed with an increase due to abuse. But they do mention Chaos reductions. Nothing concrete yet for Thousand Sons in particular. There's "build your own Landraider" with Reaper Autocannons, but it will be allowable only in open play. This is a rumour I can't confirm on points changes we -may- use: Chaos Space Marines Force Axe 10 Force Stave 8 Force Sword 8 Helbrute Fist single/pair 40/50 Predator Autocannon 40 Thousand Sons: Warlord Trait: Re-roll Deny Witch Tests Relic: rolling doubles for psychic tests means the opponent may not resist with deny the witch or negate it by any means. Psychic Power: Warp charge of 7. Select an enemy unit within 18″ and roll 9 dice. The unit suffers mortal wounds on each roll of a 6 Stratagems: 1CP If within 6″ of at least 2 other friendly TS psykers, you can add 2 to your psychic test. I'll add/ edit as more 'truth' comes out! Please feel free to add, or comment, but please keep it to Chapter Approved and not codex wish-listing.
Given that I have a bunch of nicely painted terminators from the Space Hulk box, I've been looking into ways of using them in my lists with the new codex. Naturally I noticed the Strike of the Archangels strategem, and was both excited and a little disappointed. Rerolling ALL hits until the start of your NEXT turn (so your turn, then your opponent's turn) seems great. But at the same time, I like to maximize. And I usually run my terminators in deep strike reserve, then set them up somewhere to provide a strongpoint/reinforcement to battleline squads. So I can reroll shots when I come in from deep strike, but making a charge after deep strike is...unlikely as we have all experienced by this point. So it maybe that you can only reroll one round of shooting when you use the strategem. But if you CAN get into combat on the turn you activate the strategem, you get to reroll close combat attacks on you turn AND your opponent's turn. So I did a bit more thinking, and started looking into the pre- requisites to use the strategem, "Use this strategem immediately after a BLOOD ANGELS TERMINATOR unit from your army is set up on the battlefield". So I started looking around for things that "set up" units on the battlefield and I noticed disembarking from a transport used the EXACT same terminology "Any unit that begins its Movement phase embarked within a transport can disembark...When a unit disembarks, SET it UP on the BATTLEFIELD". So in essence brothers, we can load up a terminator squad in a transport, disembark them from that transport near a unit we REALLY wanna delete, activate the strategem and get rerolls to hit on all those juicy close combat weapons. Suddenly, those power fist & thunder hammer attacks are gonna hit a lot more. And if you took tactical terminators, you'll REALLY be able to clear some chaff when all your stormbolters shots are suddenly hitting. Wanted to share that wisdom with you all, cause that makes the transport & terminator combo very potent in my opinion. I wouldn't even want to add any characters into the mix because that strategem is so strong, any of the auras we have would be better used elsewhere. Has anyone had any experience with this strategem yet? Any other creative ways of employing it?
I'm planning what to buy and want to make sure this stratagem is useful. Prismatic Dimensional Breach: Use this strategem in the reinforcement step of your movement phase. Select one <core> unit from your reserve then select one <dynasty> Night Scythe or Monolith model that is on the battlefield. Set up that <core> unit anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly within 3" of that Monolith or Night Scythe model and not within Engagement Range of any enemy units. This strategem cannot be used turn one. So, can this be used on Monoliths and Night Scythes that have come in from reserve this turn? The way I read it, they can. It doesn't say to use at the start of the reinforcement step or that the target unit must not have moved but I just started collecting so... As a Mephrit player, I do believe deep striking a Night Scythe with 10 S7 Ap-1 Tesla Cannon shots T2 then having it drop off twenty Warriors with ap-3 within 7.5" Gauss Reapers about 6 inches away from an enemy could be a legitimate strategy. Add exploding, auto wounding or mortal wounding on 6's strategems as you see fit. It would certainly be a distraction. 3cp and 405 points. Thoughts?