Two's Companies!

http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z121/mnesimache/Castigator%20Army/twos_comp_banner.jpg

What is "Two's Companies"?

Like most people in Warhammer, I've started an army before. Quite a few times before, actually; I tend to start, get disenchanted, and give up. So in my years in the hobby, my bitzboxes have grown exponentially whilst I've never really had anything to show for it. There was really no forward progress. Recently I've been organising things, and the sheer number of Space Marine models I had astounded me. This constant start-armies-give-up-start-give-up has left me with loads of Space Marines.

I've been watching some blogs and the like, and it seems that a painted army on the table looks awesome. It doesn't necessarily matter if individual models are mediocre - in large units, they really pull together. That's encouraging, because I'm not an expert painter, and I tend to get disenchanted and give up when things don't quite seem to match the expertly painted model on the laptop's screen.

The Battle Company is the ultimate endpoint for many Space Marine players - a cohesive units capable of levelling worlds, it's really an awesome sight - and the ultimate end-goal for this project. I sat down and talked to Cpt. Tiberius, also going through a similar crisis, and we decided that we were going to do something about the mounting piles of plastic and metal piling up.

Our plan is simple. Each of us is going to collect a Battle-Company (with attached support) for our respective Chapters; I'll be creating the Fifth Company of the Castigators and he'll be creating the Third Company of the Space Sharks. It might take us a while, but we're hoping that we can spur each other on (and of course, you guys can help in that, too.) Painting's definitely not my forté, but Tiberius and I are trying to make modelling and painting fun - because that's what it should all be about.

Fifth Company Castigators