Tutorial - Green Stuff Berets

WarriorFish

Green Stuff Berets
At long last the promised GS beret tutorial, I was apparently running out of helmetless heads... This is a relatively simple bit of sculpting to do so is a great way to familiarise yourself with how it works and get used to working with GS. That said I was a little out of practice for this so it always pays to keep your skills sharp (and a good stock of helmetless heads tongue.png ).

Tools

The tools are simple enough, GW did a pretty good metal one (I think they still do them?) but it's well worth getting some sculpting tools if you fancy doing something more detailed. Make sure you don't get the soft tools; they need to be harder to work with GS properly. I also have a nifty set of tweezers with a little light on which can be useful for working with smaller bits.

gallery_30308_9980_18518.jpg

Tips

I'm not a GS expert but there's a few things I've picked up:

• Always work wet, so have a water source to hand - dipping the tool in is enough
  • Always use more than you need, adding more GS is a nightmare compared to removing excess
  • Get the pieces secure for working with, such as tweezers or drilling into the bit to hold it if it's small
  • Make pauses to review your progress often
  • Practice makes perfect, so keep at it and pushing your boundaries and accept the inevitable failures
  • Don't feel the need to do it all at once, you can do a bit and let it cure and return to enhance it with additions (such as sculpted details)

Last but not least remember that if I can do it anyone can, so don't be afraid to give it a try smile.png You might surprise yourself and discover a hidden talent msn-wink.gif

Sourcing a Head