Norse Votann

phandaal
Go to solution Solved by phandaal,

I have enjoyed seeing everyone's color schemes here and elsewhere, so I thought I would share mine now that I have finally gotten time to start painting my army box. Wanted to do something different from my Dark Angels/Deathwing, and different from the Codex schemes and synthwave themes a lot of people are going with.

As a lifelong fan of all things Dwarven, I have always liked this picture of Norse Dwarves from Warhammer Fantasy:

Spoiler

large.Warhammer_Norse_Dwarfs.png.7665bc5

Since Votann are Sci-Fi Dwarves, I thought I would take a shot at adapting this theme to Votann.

Here is my first batch. Disclaimer - I am not a pro painter, and definitely not a pro photographer.

Spoiler

large.20221105_223626_2.jpg.fd394ea6cad0

Here is a close-up of the guy with the plasma knife:

Spoiler

large.20221030_212721.jpg.899385d1bd4256

These guys have Satin varnish, because I like that better than Matte. May go with Matte on any exposed skin though.

Really liking these colors so far. Also working on converting some Berserkers with their obligatory bright orange mohawks and beards.

Thank you everyone for the kind words!

15 hours ago, Lysimachus said:

Really clever to transfer the gold from the scheme into the visor/glowing bits, very nice!

Yes, it is a very yellow gold in these pictures. Yellow seemed better for a high-tech theme. Got some pale gold that I am going to try out on runes and crests, and for vehicle canopies. Will have to see how that works out with the rest of the scheme.

4 hours ago, Doobles88 said:

Really like those, good work. Occurs to me that I've not really seen many (if any) examples of people painting the armour as metallic until now. No idea why as it clearly works!